Sorority Noise deliver heartfelt ode to grief with ‘No Halo’ music video

sorority noise.jpg

American pop punk band Sorority Noise has released a music video for No Halo, the opening track and lead single to their latest album You’re Not As _____ As You Think.

Directed by Kyle Thrash (who also directed the recently released music video for Map Change by Every Time I Die), the music video for No Halo directly deals with how death can affect everyone, with this video showing a gauntlet of emotions, such as despondence, anger, grief and affection, that can come with bereavement.

The lyrics expressed by vocalist Cameron Boucher sees him sounding extremely emotional, with the lyrics directly referencing the struggles he experienced when one of his high school best friends committed suicide. In a interview he did with setereogum earlier this year, Cameron Boucher had this to say about the lyrics to No Halo:

The song, “No Halo”, the first single… I don’t know if I’ve told anyone this… I was back home at my friend’s house chilling, and I was like, I’m going to drive home. We were in Sean’s neighborhood, but Sean had been passed away for about a year, but I didn’t remember that. And so I was like, I’m gonna drive by Sean’s house and just stop by and say hi. And then I drove to his house, and when I pulled up in front, I realized he wasn’t there. That’s what that chorus of the song is about, and the whole song in general… I think I literally just sat in my car and wrote 90% of the lyrics right there.

In my review for You’re Not As ____ As You Think, I stated that it may be one of the best albums of the year already and a couple of months later, I still stand by this sentiment, with No Halo being a definite standout.

So, you probably should check this song out.

Leave a Reply

